Before I fall in love,

There are a few things I need you to know:

When the hurricane is closing in and you can’t see past the storms in my eyes just remember rainbows can only happen after it rains.

When you feel like throwing your hands up and walking away;

Remember I’m still standing there with my arms crossed and tapping a foot waiting for you to turn around and walk right back to me.

I know sometimes I’m a raging sea and you fear you might drown,

Just never forget I will always throw you a life saver.

When it seems the darkness in me will overcome everything,

Don’t forget about the flashlight I stuck in the pocket of your favorite jeans.

Most of all and most importantly:

Just care.

And if you ever reach a point where you just don’t care anymore,

Grant me the courtesy of letting me know so it can be my choice to throw in the towel.

I promise if you can do these things for me,

I won’t forget to remind you about the plans you have Saturday night.

I promise to never leave wet towels on the floor and to slow down so you don’t get car sick.

Before I fall in love,

Make sure there’s no doubt in my mind I should let myself fall.

 

Comments

Leave a comment